The Taken

The Taken Book Cover

Book 1: The Celestial Blues Trilogy

Griffin Shaw used to be a PI, but that was back when gumshoes hoofed the streets . . . and he was still alive. Fifty years later, he’s a celestial Centurion, assisting the recently, and violently, dead. Yet just because he’s an angel doesn’t mean he’s a saint. One small mistake has altered fate, and now he’s been dumped back onto to the mortal mudflat to collect another soul—Katherine “Kit” Craig, a journalist whose latest investigation is about to get her clipped.

Bucking heavenly orders, Grif refuses to let this sable-haired siren with hairpin curves come to harm. Besides, protecting her offers a chance to find the truth about his own mysterious death — and wreak some vengeance for the murder of his beloved wife, Evie.

Joining forces, Kit and Grif’s search for answers leads beyond the blinding lights of the Strip into the dark heart of an evil conspiracy. But a ruthless killer determined to destroy them isn’t Griffin’s biggest threat. His growing attraction to Kit could cost them both their lives, as well as the answer to the greatest mystery of his long afterlife …

Who killed Griffin Shaw?

The Taken audiobook by Vicki Pettersson
Audiobook Edition

The Taken is available on audiobook from these online booksellers

  • Buy at
  • Buy from
  • Buy from iTunes / iBooks

Format: Unabridged
Narrator: Kevin Fabian
Time: 12h 5m

What people are saying...

“Stunningly Stylish: Pettersson’s New Series Showcases the Evolution of an Author and a Genre!”

 — Barnes & Noble

“[Pettersson’s] irresistibly good yarn proves that there’s still plenty of room for brilliant innovation in urban fantasy.”

 — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Pettersson’s amazing new series is off to a rocking start with this compelling read!”

 — Romantic Times/****1/2 – Top Pick!

“The Taken is an exceptional look into a vision of what happens when the hereafter merges with the here-and-now, the mechanics of the world building as unique and satisfying as the tale itself. Mystery, crime scene drama, and more than enough romance to keep the heart pumping blend seamlessly into an enthralling read that kept me glued to the pages until the final, satisfying end. I can’t wait for the sequel.”

– Kim Harrison, New York Times bestselling author

“A delectably dark paranormal thriller. I’ve always been a fan of Pettersson’s work, but she knocks it out of the park with this one.”

— Kelly Armstrong, New York Times bestselling author

The Details

Publisher: HarperCollins / Harper Voyager
Published: June 2012
ISBN-10: 0062064649

Celestial Blues Trilogy
The Taken by Vicki Pettersson

The Taken
Book 1

The Lost by Vicki Pettersson

The Lost
Book 2

The Given by Vicki Pettersson

The Given
Book 3


On a travel sabbatical for 2017 -- instead, catch me on the Web!

Where to Buy

  • Buy on
  • Buy from Barnes & Noble
  • Buy from Audible
  • Buy from Google Play
  • Buy from iTunes iBooks
  • Buy from IndieBound
  • Buy from Kobo

Subscribe to Vicki's Newsletter